The Honorable Mary Murphy
Presiding Judge, First Administrative Judicial Region

The Honorable Mary Murphy was appointed Presiding Judge of the First Administrative Judicial Region by Governor Rick Perry on October 2, 2013, following her retirement from the Fifth District Court of Appeals. She began her judicial career in 1997 when she served as Dallas Count's first civil court master. She was elected to the 14th District Court in 2000 and served two terms before being elected as an appellate court justice in 2008.

Judge Murphy has been a frequent speaker and author on legal topics during the past thirty years and served for numerous years as an adjunct professor in trial advocacy at the SMU Dedman School of Law. Her main activities have included a two-year term as President of the Patrick E. Higginbotham American Inn of Court and Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Dallas bar Foundation. In 2006, she was named the ABOTA-Dallas Judge of the year and Distinguished Alumna of the University of Texas-Dallas.