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Presentation Overview

• Education Decision-Making 
• Special Education
• Information Sharing 
• School Discipline  
• Transition Planning
• Key Education Provisions
• Additional Resources
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Education Decision-Making
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Education Decision-Maker
• Makes day to day education decisions (ex: field trip).
• Required for all children and youth in conservatorship. 
• Using Form 2085-E, DFPS must name and include contact information 

for Education Decision-Maker, Surrogate Parent (if applicable), 
Caseworker, and Supervisor. 

• DFPS must file Notice of EDM with the court. Form 2085-E must be 
provided to the school within 5 days of any change. 

Tex. Fam. Code § 263.004
• Per contract, providers must bring Placement Authorization Form 

(Form 2085) and Form 2085-E to the school at the time of the child's 
enrollment and at the beginning of each school year.

4



DFPS Form 2085-E
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Who is Considered a “Parent” 
Under IDEA?

• Biological or adoptive parent,
• Foster parent unless prohibited by state law,
• Legal guardian (not the state),
• Person acting in place of a parent and who the child lives with (can be 

non-relative),
• Person legally responsible for the child, or
• Surrogate parent (Ex: a child in foster care is placed in RTC). 

34 C.F.R. § 300.30(a)
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Requirements for Surrogate Parents 

• District must make “reasonable efforts” to ensure assignment of a 
surrogate parent not more than 30 days after the need arises.

• Criteria for selection:
• NOT a school district employee or any agency involved in care or 

education of the child (DFPS, TJJD, State Supported Living Center, 
RTC, etc.).

• No personal or professional interest that conflicts with the 
interests of the child.

• Has knowledge and skills to ensure adequate representation of the 
child.
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Requirements for Surrogate Parents 

• Represents the child in all matters relating to:
• Identification, evaluation, placement, and
• Provision of FAPE to the child.

34 C.F.R. § 300.519; Tex. Educ. Code § 29.015
• The court may appoint a surrogate parent for a child in foster care.

34 C.F.R. § 300.519(c); Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0025
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Duties of Surrogate Parent 
Under Texas Law

• A surrogate parent must:
• Complete a training program for surrogate parents,
• Visit the child and the child’s school,
• Consult with persons involved in the child’s education, including teachers, 

caseworkers, court-appointed volunteers, guardians ad litem, attorneys ad 
litem, foster parents, and caretakers,

• Review the child’s educational records,
• Attend the child’s ARD committee meetings,
• Exercise independent judgment in pursuing the child’s interests, and
• Exercise the child’s due process rights under state and federal special 

education law.
Tex. Educ. Code § 29.001(10)
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CASA as a Surrogate Parent?

• Under Texas law, a CASA volunteer may serve as surrogate parent if:
• The child is under the conservatorship of DFPS,
• CASA volunteer is the child’s guardian ad litem, 
• The foster parent is not acting as the child’s parent under Section 

29.015 of the Texas Education Code, and
• The CASA completes a surrogate parent training program. 

Tex. Fam. Code § 107.031(c)
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Special Education
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IDEA Eligibility

• To be eligible, the student must have a qualifying 
disability and because of that disability need special 
education and related services.
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IDEA Eligibility

• These disabilities include:
• Intellectual disabilities
• Hearing impairments, 

including deafness
• Speech or language 

impairments
• Visual impairments, including 

blindness

• Serious emotional disturbance
• Orthopedic impairments
• Autism
• Traumatic brain injury
• Other health impairments
• Specific learning disabilities

20 U.S.C. § 1401(3)
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IDEA Purpose

• To ensure that all children with disabilities have available to them a 
free appropriate public education (“FAPE”) that emphasizes special 
education and related services designed to meet their unique needs 
and prepare them for further education, employment, and 
independent living.

20 U.S.C. § 1400(d)(1)(A)
• Applies to all public schools, including open-enrollment charter 

schools.  
20 U.S.C. § 1413 (a)(5)
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Entitlement and FAPE
• IDEA guarantees that all students with disabilities age 3 through 21 

have the right to FAPE. 21 means 21 at the beginning of a school year. 
Thus, a 22 year old student can often be served in a district.

• The right to a FAPE ends when a student graduates with a regular high 
school diploma. FAPE is still required for students who have received 
a certificate of attendance or a certificate of graduation that is not a 
regular high school diploma.

20 U.S.C. § 1412; 34 C.F.R. § 300.102(a)(3)
• School districts deliver FAPE by providing “special education services” 

and “related services.” They are required to do so in all settings 
including RTCs, hospitals, jails, juvenile facilities, etc.

15



Child Find

• IDEA’s “child find” mandate imposes an affirmative duty on every 
school district to:

• identify, 
• locate, and 
• refer for evaluation

• Each student residing in the district who is suspected of having a 
disability and, because of that disability, requires specially designed 
instruction in order to access the general curriculum.

20 U.S.C. §§ 1401(3) and 1412(a)(3)
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Admission, Review, and Dismissal 
(ARD) Committee

• Members of Committee:
• Parents (or surrogate parent)
• Student, whenever appropriate,
• Representative of school district knowledgeable about special 

ed services,
• 1+ special ed teacher or provider,
• 1+ regular ed teacher (if student is or may be in regular ed 

classes), and
• Someone who can interpret evaluations.

34 C.F.R. § 300.321; 19 Tex. Admin. Code § 89.1050
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ARD Committee’s Purpose

• Primary duties of a student’s ARD committee include:

• Determining eligibility for special education;
• Developing the student’s IEP;
• Reviewing and revising the IEP, at least annually.

34 C.F.R. § § 300.306; 300.324; 
Tex. Educ. Code § 29.005; 

19 Tex.Admin. Code § 89.1050
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ARD Meeting

• Meets at least annually to develop student’s individualized education 
program (IEP).

• Parent/surrogate must receive 5+ school days notice of meeting, 
unless waived, and school must attempt to work with parent’s 
schedule.
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ARD Process
• School districts must activity seek parent participation at all ARD 

committee meetings.
• A parent may request an ARD committee meeting at any time.
• Committee decisions must be reached by consensus; state law does 

not allow the committee to reach decisions by majority vote. 
• If the ARD committee cannot agree on the substance of the IEP, the 

parent is offered an opportunity to recess and reconvene.
• If, upon reconvening, the parties still disagree, the school district 

must implement the IEP that it determines to be appropriate for the 
student.

Tex. Educ. Code §29.005(b); 19 TAC 89.1050
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Dispute Resolution 

• The IDEA requires the state education agency (TEA) to 
offer dispute resolution options to assist with 
disagreements over eligibility and the special 
education and related services offered to a student.

• These include:
• Mediation,
• State complaint investigation, and 
• Due process hearings.

34 CFR § §300.151-153; 300.506-518
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Contents of the IEP
• The IEP is the written statement developed by the ARD committee of 

the student’s education program that contains certain components, 
including:

• Present levels of academic achievement and functional performance;
• Statement of goals;
• Method of measuring progress;
• Special education, related services, & supplementary aids/services;
• Participation in general education class and activities;
• Accommodations for assessments;
• Time, place, and duration of services;
• Transition services;
• Transfer of rights at age of majority

20 U.S.C. §§ 1414(d)(1)(A) and (d)(6)
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Model IEP Form

• State law requires TEA to post a model individualized 
education program (IEP) form. 

• It provides a helpful guide to what must be included in 
a student’s IEP.

• Available online at:
• https://tea.texas.gov/Academics/Special_Student_Populati

ons/Special_Education/Programs_and_Services/IEP_Model
_Form/ 
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Least Restrictive Environment
(LRE)

• School districts must ensure that students with disabilities, including 
students in public or private institutions or other care facilities, are 
educated with their peers who are not disabled to the extent 
appropriate.

• School districts must offer a continuum of alternative placements, 
including instruction in:

• regular classes;
• special classes;
• special schools;
• home instruction; and
• instruction in hospitals and institutions.

20 U.S.C. § 1412(a)(5); 19 Tex. Admin. Code § 89.63                         
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IEP and School Transfer

• If a child with an IEP transfers to a new school district in Texas within
the same school year, the new district must provide FAPE to the
student until the new district:

• Adopts the child’s IEP from the previous school district; or
• Develops, adopts, and implements a new IEP that meets the  

applicable federal requirements.
34 C.F.R. §§ 300.320-300.324
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§504 v. Special Education

• §504 requires accommodations for students’ disabilities, regardless of 
whether they have an educational need for special education. 

• To be eligible a student must have a physical or mental impairment 
that substantially limits a major life activity.

• There is no funding that comes with §504. 
• There is no standard for what a §504 plan looks like, though one must 

exist. 
• §504 teams meet on an annual basis, similar to ARD committees.

See 29 U.S.C. § 794
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Information Sharing
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Confidentiality - Education

• Under the Uninterrupted Scholars Act of 2013 amendment to the 
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, schools can disclose 
records to child welfare agency representative without parental 
consent. 

42 U.S.C. § 1232g(b)(1)(L)
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Confidentiality - Child Welfare

• When necessary to meet a child’s needs, DFPS staff and providers 
may share child information with those responsible for the child’s:

• protection, 
• diagnosis, 
• care, 
• treatment, 
• supervision, or 
• education 

• Case by case decision. “Need to know.” 
• Share minimum amount needed.

29



Confidentiality –Child Welfare

• Information generally appropriate for CPS to share with school 
personnel: 

• 2085 Placement Authorization and  2085-E Designation of Education Decision-
Maker forms. 

• CPS caseworker and supervisor contact information. 
• Fact that the student is in DFPS care. 
• Important documents needed for enrollment or services. 
• Vision & hearing evaluations. 
• Medications administered during the school day. 
• Medicaid eligibility/number. 
• Information for transition planning.
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Confidentiality – Child Welfare

• Okay to share if it relates to the child’s care and needs in the 
educational setting: 

• Medical, disability, or health information. 
• Psychological evaluations (redacted).
• Behavior supports used in the home. 
• Juvenile justice information. 
• Information about the impact of abuse or neglect history when 

related to school behavior (effects of trauma and triggering 
events). 
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Confidentiality – Child Welfare

• Information that should never be shared:
• Reporter name or identity. 
• The fact that the child was adopted. 
• Alcohol or substance abuse history and treatment.
• Biological or foster family income. 

32



School Discipline 
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Federal Law Protections 

• Under IDEA, removal means more than 10 consecutive school days 
OR a pattern (because removals total 10+ days/year, the behavior is 
substantially similar, and removals are close in time).

20 U.S.C. § 1415(k) 
• School must:

• Notify parent of disciplinary decision and give them a copy of their 
procedural safeguards on the same day the school decides to take 
the disciplinary action; and

• Assemble parents and relevant ARD members for a manifestation 
determination.
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Disciplinary Removals
• In all disciplinary removals, schools “consider” the following:

• Self-defense,
• Intent or lack of intent at the time the student engaged in the 

conduct,
• A student ’s disciplinary history, or
• A disability that substantially impairs the student ’s capacity to 

appreciate the wrongfulness of the student’s conduct.
Tex. Educ. Code § 37.001(a)(4)

• Exclusionary discipline only available in certain circumstances below 
Grade 3.

Tex. Educ. Code § 37.005(c)
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Manifestation Determination
• The school district, the parent, and relevant members of the ARD committee 

must decide if the student’s conduct:
• Was caused by, or had a direct and substantial relationship to the student’s disability, or
• Was the direct result of the school’s failure to implement the student’s IEP.

• If yes:  The student’s conduct is a manifestation of the student’s disability and the 
school must:

• Conduct a functional behavioral assessment (FBA) (unless one has already been conducted),
• Implement a behavior intervention plan (BIP), and
• Return the student to his prior placement.

20 U.S.C. § 1415; Tex. Educ. Code § 37.004

• EXCEPTION:  Even if conduct was a manifestation, if the behavior involved drugs, 
weapons, or substantial bodily injury, the student can be placed in a DAEP for up 
to 45 days.

36



Education Services During 
Suspension or Expulsion

• A district may be required to provide FAPE during suspensions and 
expulsions.

• If the removal is less than 10 days, the school is only required to 
provide the same services it provides to non-IDEA students. 

• If the removal is for more than 10 days then the school must provide 
services.

• The services provided don’t have to be exactly the same services 
but the school must enable the child to continue to participate in 
the general curriculum.

20 U.S.C. § 1415
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Transition Planning
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What are transition services?

CPS
• Coordinated set of activities 
• Assists youth in DFPS 

conservatorship
• Includes PAL supports (e.g. life 

skills class, workforce readiness)
• To transition from foster care to 

independent living

Special Education
• Coordinated set of activities
• Based on the individual needs of 

a student with a disability
• Focus on improving the 

academic and functional 
achievement 

• To facilitate movement from 
school to post-school activities
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At what age is a student’s transition plan first 
developed? 

CPS
• Age 14; OR
• The age of the youth upon 

entering conservatorship if the 
youth is older than 14

Special Education
• No later than 14; OR
• If the student is not eligible 

before 14, when the student 
becomes eligible for special 
education
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At what age is transition planning no longer 
required?

CPS
• Once the youth or young adult 

exits foster care

Special Education
• Once the student is ineligible for 

special education
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How is the transition plan developed?

CPS
• Transition Plan attached to 

youth’s  plan of service
• Developed at a Permanency 

Conference, Circles of Support, 
or Transition Plan meetings

Special Education
• Individual transition plan (ITP) is 

a component of the student’s 
IEP

• Developed at the admission, 
review, and dismissal (ARD) 
committee meeting
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Who participates in developing the transition 
plan?

CPS
• The youth determines who should be invited
• May include:

• Youth
• Caregiver
• Education Decision-maker and/or 

surrogate parent
• Biological parents, siblings, extended 

family
• Other caring adults who can provide 

support
• Attorney, guardian ad litem

Special Education
• Student (as appropriate)
• Parents

• Regular education teacher (s), Special 
education teacher(s) or provider(s) (as 
appropriate)

• District representative
• Individuals with knowledge or special 

expertise re: student (at discretion of parent 
and district)

• Individual to interpret evaluations

43



What information is included in the transition 
plan?

CPS
• Personalized at the direction of 

the youth. Includes specific 
information regarding:

• Housing
• Health insurance
• Education
• Local opportunities for mentors and 

continuing support service
• Workforce supports and employment 

services

Special Education
• Outlined in TEC § 29.011
• Includes appropriate: 

• Postsecondary education options, 
including preparation for postsecondary-
level coursework

• Functional vocational evaluation
• Employment goals and objectives
• Independent living goals and objectives
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Transitions-Best Practices
• Collaborate and Coordinate
• Start early
• Engage youth and caregivers
• Be realistic
• Meet regularly
• Share information and documents, while respecting privacy
• Recognize individual student needs and goals
• Add informal pre-planning to formal meeting structure
• Use resources efficiently 
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Other Key Education Provisions
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Excused Absences

• Student in care excused, including travel, if activity:
• Ordered by court under Texas Family Code Chapters 262 or 263 (if 

not practicable outside of school hours), or
• Required under DFPS service plan.

• If excused, must be allowed reasonable time to make up school work.
Tex. Educ. Code § 25.087

• Per contract, Providers must schedule therapy, visitation, and other 
appointments outside of school hours whenever possible. 
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Award of Credit

• School districts must make credit by examination available, at any 
point during the school year, to students who are homeless or in 
foster care.

19 Tex. Admin. Code § 74.24
• School districts must award credit proportionally to a student who is 

homeless or in substitute care who successfully completes one 
semester of a two semester course.

19 Tex. Admin. Code § 74.26
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Additional Resources
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Helpful Links

• Children’s Commission
• http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/our-work/foster-care-education/

• Department of Family & Protective Services
• https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/State_Care/education.asp
• https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/PCS/Residential_Contracts/contract_forms.asp

• Texas Education Agency
• https://tea.texas.gov/FosterCareStudentSuccess/
• https://tea.texas.gov/Academics/Special_Student_Populations/Special_Educa

tion/Special_Education/
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Contact Information

Denise Brady
Senior Policy Attorney

Texas Dept. of Family and Protective Services
Denise.Brady@dfps.state.tx.us

Heather Reisman
Senior Counsel, Office of Legal Services

Texas Education Agency
Heather.Resiman@tea.texas.gov
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Thank you for attending this presentation!
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