Frequently Asked Questions: Tuition and Fee Waiver

Q: What is the Texas Tuition and Fee Waiver?

A: This is a Texas law that exempts or waives payment of tuition and fees at Texas supported public colleges or universities for youth currently or formerly in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) and for those adopted from DFPS.

Q: Do I qualify for the Texas Tuition and Fee Waiver?

A: If any of the following are true, you are eligible for the waiver, if you enroll in a course at a Texas supported public college, university, or vocational school before age 25:

- I was in DFPS Conservatorship the day before my 18th birthday, or
- I was in DFPS Conservatorship on my 14th birthday or after that date and was eligible for adoption on or after that date, or
- I was in DFPS Conservatorship on the day I graduated from high school or received the equivalent of a high school diploma, or
- I was in DFPS conservatorship the day I was adopted and that date was on or after September 1, 2009, or
- I was in DFPS conservatorship the day Sole Managing Conservatorship was granted to a non-parent and that date was after September 1, 2009, or
- I was 14 years or older on or after June 1, 2016 and left DFPS Permanent Managing Conservatorship to return to the legal responsibility of a parent, or
- I was 16 years or older on or after June 1, 2016 and left DFPS Temporary Managing Conservatorship to the legal responsibility of a parent,

<u>AND</u>

• I was in DFPS conservatorship on the day of enrollment in a dual credit course or other course which a high school student may earn joint high school and college credit.

NOTE: To be eligible for the waiver after your 25th birthday, you must be eligible as described above, **AND** you must also have enrolled in a Texas state-supported (public) college or university before your 25th birthday. **If both are true, you are eligible for the waiver for the rest of your life**.

<u>OR</u>

 I was adopted and there was an adoption assistance agreement between DFPS and your adoptive parents providing monthly payments and Medicaid benefits.

NOTE: There is no requirement to enroll in a Texas state-supported (public) college or university before your 25th birthday if you qualify under this category.

A chart detailing the <u>Tuition and Fee Waiver Process</u> is available on the Texas Children's Commission website.

Q; Must I be able to show that I have a financial need or that I participated in PAL services to receive the Tuition and Fee Waiver?

A: Neither demonstrating a financial need nor participation in PAL services are required to receive the Tuition and Fee Waiver.

Q: How many hours do I have to take to be able to receive the State College Tuition Waiver?

A: There is no minimum number of hours required to receive the benefit.

Q: What type of institution do I have to be enrolled in to receive the State College Tuition Waiver?

A: You must be attending a state supported public college or university in the state of Texas. Visit the College for All Texans website for a <u>list</u> of state supported public colleges and universities.

Q: How long can I get the State College Tuition Waiver?

A: Once you have enrolled in at least one class at a state supported college or university before your 25th birthday, there is no limit on the duration you can receive the waiver, and no limit on the number of years between uses.

Q: What costs will the State College and Tuition Waiver cover?

A: The waiver will cover tuition costs and fees related to enrollment in a state supported college or university.

Q: What costs will the State College and Tuition Waiver NOT cover?

A: The waiver will not cover costs associated with housing, food, books, supplies, transportation, or any other cost that is not explicitly listed in the college or universities tuition and fees, as established by that institution's governing board.

Q: How can I verify that the tuition and fee waiver will cover the class I want to take at my Texas supported public college, university, or vocational school?

A: Training programs and college or university courses must be covered by state funds to be covered by the tuition and fee waiver. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board maintains listings of courses at two-year colleges and universities that are state funded.

For more information, please contact DFPS PAL Assistance Staff or Adoption Eligibility Assistance Staff.

Additional Resources:

- Department of Family and Protective Services' Transitional Living Services
- Education Reach for Texas Foster Care Exemption Fact Sheet
- Texas Foster Youth Project Education Page